Metropolitan Mosquito Control District

Organizational meeting January 4, 2024 9:15 A.M.

Information Packet

METROPOLITAN MOSQUITO CONTROL DISTRICT ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING AGENDA

January 4, 2024 9:15 a.m.

- 1. Roll Call
- 2. Swearing in of Commissioners
- 3. Appointment of Temporary Chair
- 4. Election of Officers
 - A. Chair
 - B. Vice-Chair
 - C. Secretary
- 5. Appointment of Executive Committee
- 6. Meeting Schedule- Day and Time

Commission Meeting

Executive Committee Meeting

- 7. Other Issues
- 8. Adjournment

Next Executive Committee Meeting: Wednesday, January 24, 2024 (proposed) at 9:15 a.m.

Next Commission Meeting: Wednesday, February 28, 2024 (proposed) at 9:15 a.m.

COMMISSIONER	COUNTY	COMMISSIONER	COUNTY
Mandy Meisner	Anoka	Angela Conley	Hennepin
Mike Gamache	Anoka	Marion Greene	Hennepin
Julie Jeppson	Anoka	Rena Moran	Ramsey
Gayle Degler	Carver	Nicole Frethem	Ramsey
Tom Workman	Carver	Mai Chong Xiong	Ramsey
Mary Hamann-Roland	Dakota	Tom Wolf	Scott
Laurie Halverson	Dakota	David Beer	Scott
Liz Workman	Dakota	Gary Kriesel	Washington
Kevin Anderson	Hennepin	Fran Miron	Washington

Request for Commission Action

Organizational Meeting January 5, 2023

Requested by:	Action requested
reducated by t	TICTION TECHCECCA

Arleen Schacht Review recap of the Commission's Informal Officer Succession Plan

Background:

The Commission has three officers, no two of whom can be from the same county:

- 1. Chair
- 2. Vice-Chair
- 3. Secretary

Traditionally, the Commission has rotated its officers among the large and less populated counties to achieve a balance in the governance of the program.

In general, the Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary have been rotated every two years with each office represented by a different county.

As of December 31, 2023, the Chair from Washington County was finishing the first of two years. The Vice-Chair from Ramsey County was finishing the first of two years, and the Secretary from Carver County is finishing the first of two years. Under the normal succession, the rotation for chair would be as follows:

Service Years	rs County Representation	
2023 and 2024	Washington	
2025 and 2026	Ramsey	
2027 and 2028	Carver	
2029 and 2030	Anoka	
2031 and 2032	Scott	
2033 and 2034	Dakota	
2035 and 2026	Hennepin	

The Executive Committee is made up of the three officers plus one member from each of the counties not represented by an officer.



Website: www.mmcd.org

Metro Counties Government Center 2099 University Avenue West Saint Paul, MN 55104-3431 Phone: 651-645-9149 FAX: 651-645-3246

TTY use Minnesota Relay Service

2024 Commission Meeting Schedule

Metropolitan Mosquito Control District

(Commission and Executive Meetings are scheduled to start at 9:15 a.m.)

Thursday, January 4, 2024 – Annual Organizational Meeting, 9:15 am (Usually, first Thursday after the first Monday of January)

Month	3 rd Wednesday	3 rd Thursday	4 th Wednesday
January			24 Executive
February			28 Commission
March			27 Executive
April			24 Commission
May			22 Executive
June			26 Executive
July			24 Commission
August			28 Commission
September			25 Executive
October			23 Commission
November		21 Executive	
December	18 Commission (evening meeting) (6-8 PM)		

2025 Organizational Meeting: Thursday, January 9, 2025